St Petersburg Wrap Up

The St Petersburg Men’s Cat II concludes today in St. Petersburg, FL

Click here for all results.

The 55s was won by Fred Robinson, the 5th seed, who handed Larry Turville a rare clay court loss. The two battled to the end in the semis before Robinson won 75 in the third. He beat 2nd seeded Mark Peterson 62 62 in the final. Turville and Robinson won the doubles over Cantrell/Maharaj. John Davis also scored a big upset, beating the third seed, Mark Mazo in straight sets in the round of 16 before falling to Robinson in the quarters.

The 60s was a tough division. Bob Litwin, playing his first 60s tournament, upset Hugh Thomson in the quarters and Michael Beautyman in the final before falling to David Nash 75 ret (inj) in the final. Armistead Neely, who lost to Nash in three sets in the semis, edged Beautyman in the 3/4 playoff in a tight 3 setter. Nash/Neely, seeded #1, lived up to their seeding, beating the unseeded Thomson/Kirk in the final.

The 65 singles was won by Rudy Hernando, who lost a set early on to Richard Schmidt and then won his final three matches in straight sets, ultimately beating 5th seeded Bob Howe in the final 61 76. Joe Bachman, the 2nd seed, withdrew from the tournament in the 2nd round. Don Biedenger/Hernando are in the doubles final against #2 seeded Irvine/Jonsson.

King Van Nostrand continued his domination of the winter clay court events in the men’s 70s, cruising past #2 seed Fred Farzanegan 60 61 to win the title. Farzanegan though combined with Biedenger to win the 70 doubles, beating #2 seeds, Dodson/Vredevelt in the final 75 61.

In the closest of finals, George McCabe edged Jack Vredevelt to take the 75s title, 76 in the third. Main/Sutcliffe, unseeded edged McCabe/Crew in three sets in the semis and went on to win the 75s doubles title over Boone/Morse 75 62.

Clem Hopp won his second Category II of the year in the men’s 80s, a division he entered this year. He beat Bob Meyerdierks in three sets in the final. Bunge/Mackey won the doubles over Bill Weathers/Hopp 75 64.

Edmond Heisler beat Robert Threadgill to take the 85s crown 63 63.

Click here for all results.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.